Year in Cats-3606 by Tom Royal on Flickr
Year in Cats-3407 by Tom Royal on Flickr
Year in Cats-3207 by Tom Royal on Flickr
Year in Cats-3125 by Tom Royal on Flickr
Year in Cats-3045 by Tom Royal on Flickr
Year in Cats-2790 by Tom Royal on Flickr
Year in Cats-2600 by Tom Royal on Flickr
Year in Cats-2500 by Tom Royal on Flickr
Year in Cats-2494 by Tom Royal on Flickr
Year in Cats-2249 by Tom Royal on Flickr

You're using a very old version of Internet Explorer which can't show the photos that should be in this box. Please consider upgrading to a newer version of IE or an alternative such as Firefox. Thanks.

Some notes on Viaziz.com

May 21st, 2012

Meet Viaziz. Or rather, http://www.viaziz.com/adtracking/39. How did I get there? Here's a nice advert that appeared on my Facebook page today. Save money on a Canon camera at www.saveonproducts.net.

Click it and, rather than the website listed, you'll land on the Viaziz page above. Looks interesting. You can't buy the camera, of course, but you can bid on various auctions with surprisingly low prices.

Once you've bought a 'bid package', that is:

So that's anything from £59 to £349. Before handing any money over, I wonder where the company is based? There's an address at the footer of the page:

London! Let's have a look on Google Street View, shall we?

Nice location. Busy, too – must be bustling with all those businesses inside. If you check the WHOIS records for viaziz.com, of course, you get some slightly different information:

Domain name: viaziz.com

Registrant Contact:

ViaZiz Domains ()

Fax:
1020 5th Street
Miami, STATE 33139
US

Status: Locked

Name Servers:
NS1.VODIEN.COM
NS2.VODIEN.COM
NS3.VODIEN.COM

Which is interesting. But in case you were worried, a quick Google search throws up the reassuring www.viazizscam.com:

Well, that seems clear. Check the WHOIS of that website, and note the nameservers:

Name Servers:
NS1.VODIEN.COM
NS2.VODIEN.COM
NS3.VODIEN.COM

Looks familiar somehow.

Incidentally, I recently wrote this about adverts on Facebook – always think before you click.

 

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.